When running Configuration Manager current branch 1606 you might run into a situation where you cannot modify the language configuration of a site. The option is simply greyed out, preventing you from adding any client or server languages.
The reason to why this is happening can be found in the ConfigMgrSetupWizard.log (hat tip to fellow MVP Roger Zander for pointing this out). Here we see an entry indicating that setup detected that client piloting is enabled for the site and as a result the modify language configuration option will be disabled.
So if we want to make any language modifications we need to promote the pre-production client to production first. This can be done in the administration workspace in the updates and servicing node.
Once the previous step is completed we can run the Setup Wizard again and in Site Maintenance the modify language configuration option is no longer greyed out. Adding client and server languages is possible.
Conclusion: you cannot change the language settings as long as the pre-production package has not been promoted.
The underlying reason for this is that we cannot apply language pack MSP files for the newer client to an older client version. When in piloting mode the new binaries have been updated everywhere, except for the client folder for production. Adding new client language packs would copy the newer language pack MSP files from cd.latest to the client folder that still has an older client version. These language pack files are not compatible with that older client – and as a result would be deleted.
Hope it helps!
Time for another feature highlight in Configuration Manager Current Branch (CB) 1606. For this post we will focus on the pre-release feature consent which is required as of update 1606.
As you will learn later in this post this just requires you to tick one single checkbox but before doing so there are some important things (and consequences) to take into account.
What are pre-release features?
As stated by Microsoft : Pre-release features are included in the product for early testing in a production environment, but should not be considered production ready. Also – according to the docs - there is no guarantee these features will be stamped production ready – there is a chance they never evolve beyond the pre-release state.
In the updates and servicing node the feature type column will indicate whether a feature is pre-release or not.
Note 1: yes – I did also notice the anomaly with the Conditional Access for Managed PC’s feature. Not sure why the name indicates pre-release and the feature type says release.
Note 2: the Windows Store for Business Integration feature is listed as a release feature but you cannot enable it. Bottom line: it behaves like a pre-release feature so you can only enable it if you have giving consent to pre-release features.
How to give consent to use pre-release features?
Giving consent is done through the hierarchy settings as shown in the screenshot below.
Important: this is a one time action which cannot be undone. Once enabled the entire section of the dialog box is greyed out – you can not uncheck the box.
Once you have given consent you can enable pre-release features in 1606 from within the Updates and Servicing node. For future releases this can then also be done through the wizard when you are actually installing the update
What happens if we do not give consent?
When installing an update in the future, the pre-release features will be visible in the Updates and Servicing Wizard but will be greyed out. They cannot be enabled.
Once the update is installed the pre-release features will be visible as well – but we cannot turn them on until consent has been given in the hierarchy settings. This is shown in the screenshot below.
That’s it for this feature highlight – up to you to decide whether or not to enable this in your production environments.
Until next time!
Earlier today Microsoft has released version 1606 of System Center Configuration Manager current branch.
If you are already on current branch the update should soon become visible in the Updates and Servicing node of your Configuration Manager console. The global rollout is done in waves so it might not become available to you straight away. Similar to the earlier 1602 release you can also speed up the process a bit by running a script that adds the site to the early update ring.
Some relevant links to this release:
- ConfigMgr Team 1606 announcement
- Enable early update ring script in the Technet Gallery
Time to spin up the lab! More details will follow later.